Paving the way
Slaughter was incorporated in 1889. It received its name from the original owners of the land on which it is located, Mr. Will Slaughter and his brother Joe. When the railroad was being cut through, the place was called Burnsville from a Mr. Burns who cut the right of way. At that time a post office was located there and called Belzara. After the railroad was completed and a depot put there, the station and post office were both changed to Slaughter.
Get more information about the City Government and meetings.
Explore prominent town businesses, churches, schools, and landmarks.
Get in touch with the town for any questions or government requests.